Your basket is empty.

BBC Philharmonic

Bach  Cantata No. 147 Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben
Bruckner  Symphony No. 9

Juanjo Mena  Conductor
Julia Doyle  Soprano
Manchester Chamber Choir

From the blackest depths, Anton Bruckner reached out and struggled towards the light. He never made it, but in his Ninth Symphony, he left us one of the greatest spiritual odysseys in all music. Juanjo Mena and the BBC Philharmonic’s previous performances of Bruckner have won exceptional critical praise; Andrew Clements from the Guardian remarked how “the orchestra played superbly for him, but it was Bruckner's Seventh Symphony that really gave the better sense of Mena's qualities”.  You don’t need to be religious to be moved by this music; or to be refreshed by Bach’s joyous Cantata No. 147 which includes the famous chorale known as Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring.

Post-concert performance from Manchester Chamber Choir.

Discount / Promotional Code

  • Please enter Discount/ Promotional Code here:
The Ladyboys of Bangkok